The Auckland Myopia Lab is the only university based research group studying refractive development in New Zealand. Clinicians are free to consult with researchers to ensure any anti-myopia therapy and advice is consistent with international best practice, based on the latest research. 

New Zealand Myopia Researchers

johnphillips

Dr John Phillips

Principal Investigator and MCC Co-founder

Email: j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Human myopia; animal models of myopia and emmetropisation; refractive development of vertebrate and invertebrate (cephalopod) eyes; the sclera in myopia; methods for inhibiting the progression of myopia in children.


schiang

Mr Samuel Chiang

Research Optometrist and PhD Candidate

Email: s.chiang@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Human myopia; Choroidal thickness changes induced by retinal image defocus, optical coherence tomography, age related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy


Dr Safal Khanal

PhD Candidate

Email: s.khanal@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Choroidal blood flow, Ocular Imaging with OCT and MRI, Myopia, Glaucoma, Visual Psychophysics.


Dr Simon Backhouse

Lecturer, Deakin University, Australia

Email: simon.backhouse@deakin.edu.au

Research interests: Human myopia; animal models of myopia and emmetropisation; light and refractive development; circadian rhythms and refractive development; the sclera in myopia.


philip turnbull.jpg

Dr Philip Turnbull

Lecturer, Research Fellow, and MCC Co-founder

Email: p.turnbull@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: translational myopia treatments; evolutionary biology; myopia progression, cephalopod vision; evolution of the eye; choroidal perfusion; age related macular degeneration; psychophysics, virtual reality, eye tracking and movements


acollins

Mr Andrew Collins

Research Optometrist and PhD Candidate

Email: a.collins@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Human myopia; animal models of myopia and emmetropisation; epidemiology of refractive error light exposure and refractive development; human visual function and adaptation.


martin.jpg

Dr Martin Loertscher

Honorary Academic, Switzerland

Emailm.loertscher@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Novel orthokeratology designs, and myopia progression in children.


Interested in joining the team?

Send an email to Dr John Phillips j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz